They’re Baaaack

The first week having students back in class is nearly over. I have managed to survive wearing a mask for 7 hours a day, disinfecting the room after every class, hand sanitizing every student, directing kids to the nearest bathroom, explaining where their next class is located, drinking many, many cups of coffee, taking temperatures during lunch and then scarfing down my own lunch, trying to get to know and remember the names of my students, answering 10,000 emails asking why they can’t find the link to my class EVEN THOUGH I sent an email and an announcement to every child that we wouldn’t have virtual classes this week, and listening to excuses as to why they have just now started working on assignments after two full weeks of virtual school and a week of in-person learning.

Despite those last two minor irritations, I am happy to report that kids are pretty resilient and have adjusted decently to mask wearing and social distancing and online learning. I think they are adjusting much better than we adults are. I still find myself instantly irritated every morning when I have to slip a mask over my ears and across my face. I forget to tell them to stay 6 feet apart. I was all the way down the hall and in another teacher’s room when I realized I wasn’t wearing a mask.

One good thing is that 2020 has really prepared me for disruptions and interruptions. Today, when the internet went out and students saw the spinning wheel of death on their laptops, I shrugged and suggested that we just wait it out. In years past, an internet issue would have been a source of mild panic. Now, I just anticipate that things aren’t going to go the way I have planned and figure I’ll come up with an alternate plan when the time comes. I’ve had to practice my new free wheelin’ mantra several times already this week.

Because we aren’t allowed to gather in large groups, students have been eating lunch in my room. I’ve enjoyed hearing them talk about their crushes, or trying to announce someone else’s crush. Most have expressed gratitude for being back in the classroom and they have giggled with and teased each other. I’ve seen relief wash over their faces when they realize they can remember how to get back to class after having gone to the bathroom.

At the beginning of my classes, students have had to write one good thing that has come out of this pandemic and quarantine. Typically with any writing assignment that deals with personal information I’ll have several students tell they don’t have anything to write about. “Ms. K I don’t get mad, so I can’t tell you what gets me really angry.” “Ms. K, I’ve never tried anything new, so I can’t describe what it’s like to learn something new.” That was not the case with this writing prompt. I had students telling me about their new puppies, that they got to visit family they hadn’t seen in a long time, that they enjoyed being home with their parents, and new things they had learned. They also really enjoyed getting to sleep in daily.

I’ve been playing the game Story Salad with my classes during our class after lunch. I’ve learned that Luke’s whole family thinks their house is haunted, Atalaya’s Papa is teaching her to play the guitar, and Sophia has a new pet turtle that her cousin found, and Jackson is getting new hearing aids and he can’t decided which color he wants. I learned that Peyton is really chatty, which was surprising. Brodie is a lot like his brother who I taught several years ago and Connor is nothing like his brother who I also taught. I learned that Isabelle loves the show Criminal Minds and she wasn’t to be a forensic scientist for the FBI. She doesn’t mind all the disturbing crime scenes and she isn’t afraid of those who commit the crimes because, “they are just fragile people who are broken by words.” This is what teaching has always been about for me- getting to know my students.

I’m ending the week feeling like I’m an actual teacher and that sure is a good feeling.

Author: The Chronicles of Ms. K

I enjoy drinking coffee, reading books, listening to music, playing board games, and hiking. I have three indoor cats and a growing collection of stray porch cats. I teach middle school English in a public school. I have a crazy, amazing support system of family and friends. When I was younger, I thought I would grow up and stick around my home town. One summer at camp changed all that when I met Jesus and decided to follow Him. That decision brought about the stories that I'll share here.

2 thoughts on “They’re Baaaack”

  1. This makes my heart so happy!!!!! ❤️
    You are the best at relationships and you’ll be a rock in the crazy for them…because of your foundation.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started